CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

It's Time to Regulate Prepaid Cards as Bank Accounts

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. and Consumer Financial Protection Bureau are concerned these days about two related trends: the rising numbers of “unbanked” Americans and the proliferation of prepaid debit cards issued by companies like NetSpend and GreenDot that are popular with people who don’t use traditional checking accounts.

On its face, these trends appear both complementary and worrisome. People abandoned or poorly served by traditional banks often rely on alternative financial tools, like check-cashing services and pawn shops, notorious for high fees and gotcha penalties. And prepaid products have also for years been criticized for high fees and predatory marketing.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in American Banker.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org