CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Repealing the Affordable Care Act is a Terrible Idea

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

It’s been over two years since the Affordable Care Act became law, and almost two weeks since the Supreme Court confirmed that it is, in fact, constitutional. Yet its opponents just can’t accept this reality. This week Congress will vote on repealing the law, even though opponents have no plan of their own to fix the nation’s health system. Repeal is a terrible idea for our nation’s health, as well as our pocketbooks. Here’s why:

First, repeal would harm millions. Healthcare reform has already stopped insurance companies from denying coverage for 17 million children with preexisting conditions. It also eliminated "lifetime caps" for over 100 million people, guaranteeing their coverage will continue, even after a devastating injury or illness. Today, over 3 million young adults have insurance because they can stay on their parent’s plans. And over 86 million Americans have benefited from the law’s guarantee of free preventive services.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in U.S. News and World Report.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org