CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Take a Load Off, Fannie: A Bold Plan to Boost Housing

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

There’s a growing consensus among economists, investors, academics, and consumer advocates that more "principal reduction" — writing off a portion of a mortgage that exceeds a home’s value in exchange for a higher likelihood of repayment — can help avoid another wave of costly and economy-crushing foreclosures. That’s good for homeowners and lenders, and because millions of underwater mortgages are controlled by the government, it’s also good public policy.

But the country’s two biggest mortgage companies are not convinced, according to Edward DeMarco, acting director of the Federal Housing Finance Agency — which oversees the government-controlled mortgage giants Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Atlantic.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org