CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Obama Neglects Child Soldiers

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Earlier this week, the Obama administration made the stunning decision to waive restrictions on military assistance to governments that use and recruit child soldiers. The decision marks the second time in as many years that the president has used his authority to undermine the spirit of a 2008 law geared to block aid to foreign governments that press-gang children.

In 2010, the first year that the legislation took effect, the Obama administration used blanket exemptions for Chad, Congo, Sudan and Yemen despite explicit concerns — highlighted by none other than the State Department — that these governments were dependent on child soldiers. At the time, the decision sent ripples through the human-rights community: Why was the administration abandoning an opportunity to help stop forcible recruitment of children? Why would it not seize the opportunity to press for greater reform in countries with long, well-known histories of abuse?

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Hill.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org