CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Progressive Era for Today’s Progressives

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

John Halpin is a Senior Fellow at the Center for the American Progress where he is the co-director and creator of its Progressive Studies Program. The progressive era is the topic of the podcast–the time from 1890’s to the 1920s where progressivism as a political party and movement reached a high water mark.

John talks first about the history of the progressive movement. Then the difference between progressive and liberalism and how progressives identify and find solutions to problems of the day. Finally he moves to the ultimate goals of the progressive movement and how its work 100 years ago is relevant to political life today.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Progressive Way.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org