CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Elderly Will Pay More or Get Less

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Medicare is one of the government’s most effective programs. Before Medicare and Medicaid, 26 percent of the elderly were in poverty, but today, that number is less than 10 percent.

Despite that success, Representative Paul Ryan proposes to end Medicare as we know it. Currently, Medicare operates so that when a senior gets sick, Medicare pays for the care, with a set lower rate to providers. Instead, Mr. Ryan is proposing what he calls premium support. but it is really a voucher paid to insurance companies. He has proposed that starting in 2021, instead of paying directly for services, the government would provide vouchers to private insurance companies; then they would pay for the benefits. But those vouchers would be less than the cost of Medicare.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The New York Times.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org