CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Risk Retention Is Only One Part of Needed Housing Finance Reform

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The risk retention standards under the Dodd-Frank Act being voted on this week by federal regulators are an important part of revitalizing our housing finance system, but they will only work well if we get the rest of housing finance reform right.

The securitization market blew itself up during the financial crisis and it won’t be rebuilt until investors can have confidence that securitization sponsors’ interests are better aligned with their own. The risk retention standards, which require securitization sponsors to retain a 5 percent interest in the loans they securitize and to hold capital adequate to cover that risk, will help to do that, as will rules on transparency being promulgated by the SEC under the Dodd-Frank Act.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in CNBC.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org