CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Opinion: Who Will Stand Up for the Poor?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

I haven’t been sleeping well lately. Not ever since the new poverty statistics came out. With the deep recession, I knew they wouldn’t be good — but I could not have predicted the grim nature of the cold, hard facts.

As a religious person in the Judeo-Christian tradition, I know that there is more in the Hebrew and Christian scriptures about our care of the poor than any other topic.

According to those sacred texts, God will judge us most closely and most harshly on our care for the most vulnerable in our communities. From the looks of things in America, the most prosperous nation in history, we’re not going to fare very well with the creator and lover of humankind on Judgment Day.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in AOL News.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org