CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

A Powell Doctrine for the Economy and a Grand Bargain

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

As President-elect Barack Obama prepares to take office, he faces a nearly unparalleled economic challenge. Instead of inheriting projected budget surpluses as President George W. Bush did in 2001, Obama will inherit a projected deficit for 2009 approaching $1 trillion. On the other hand, Obama is also inheriting an economy that is badly in need of both massive stimulus and major long-term reforms in areas such as health care, climate change and education.

Some may call for the new administration to exhibit fiscal discipline by being cautious and careful on fiscal stimulus while lowering ambition on the magnitude and timing of major initiatives on health care, education and climate change.

This would be the wrong approach. Rather than aiming lower, the right answer is a grand bargain on fiscal policy that aims higher by combining a powerful “Powell Doctrine” fiscal stimulus and a bold approach to crucial priorities with a commitment to take on our greatest long-term entitlement challenges.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org