CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Carmel Martin on the Department of Education’s Effort to Ensure High-Quality Teachers for All Students

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Carmel Martin, Executive Vice President for Policy at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement today reacting to the news that the U.S. Department of Education will launch a new initiative to ensure that all schools have access to high-quality teachers:

All students—regardless of where they live or their family background—deserve access to high-quality instruction. We know that having a highly effective teacher can improve student achievement and increase lifetime earnings, and disadvantaged students who receive high-quality instruction year after year can keep pace with their more affluent peers. However, the harsh reality is that low-income students and students of color are twice as likely to be taught by teachers with the least experience or teachers who are not qualified. The Department of Education should be commended for its effort to ensure that excellent educators are teaching in the classrooms that need them most.

For more information or to speak to an expert, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

Related CAP Reports:

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org