CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Michael Conathan on EPA Taking Action to Protect Alaska’s Bristol Bay

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, the Environmental Protection Agency used its authority under the Clean Water Act section 404(c) to initiate the process of protecting the Bristol Bay watershed from potential open pit mining activity. Michael Conathan, Director of Ocean Policy at American Progress, released the following statement:

Today’s decision reflects the conclusions amassed over years of scientific and economic analysis: the Bristol Bay watershed’s salmon, its fishing industry and jobs, and its environment should be protected. The administration acted correctly in using its authority under the Clean Water Act to initiate a review of potential mining activity in this pristine region. We must ensure one of the most productive ecosystems on the planet will continue supporting Alaskans and feeding the world for generations to come.

To speak with an expert, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org