CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Carol M. Browner on Dan Utech Replacing Heather Zichal as White House Climate Chief

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, President Barack Obama announced that Heather Zichal will be stepping down as deputy assistant to the president for energy and climate change. In response to a White House official stating that Dan Utech will replace Zichal, Carol M. Browner, Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress and former director of the White House Office of Energy and Climate Change Policy, released the following statement:

The president has charted an ambitious plan to address climate change, and Dan Utech is a smart choice to take the reins as the administration works to implement the president’s plan. I’ve had the opportunity to work with Dan at the White House, and I know he brings a wealth of experience and knowledge to the job. Dan steps in for Heather Zichal, who has been a true climate change leader and leaves a record of accomplishment in advancing the president’s agenda on clean energy, the environment, and climate change.

For more information or to speak with an expert on this topic, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org