CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Melissa Boteach on the House Vote to Leave 3.8 Million Vulnerable Americans Without Nutrition Assistance

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today, all but 15 House Republicans voted to drop 3.8 million people, including 170,000 veterans, from the nutrition assistance program with their vote for a Farm Bill that cuts $40 billion from SNAP. Melissa Boteach, Director of the Center for American Progress’s Poverty to Prosperity Program, issued the following statement:

With the passage of a Farm Bill that slashes billions of dollars from the nutrition assistance program, House Republicans have voted to increase hunger in their districts. Nutrition assistance lifted 4 million people out of poverty last year, yet the House has pursued a policy that would deny the very basic nutrition assistance to working families, seniors, and veterans struggling to afford food, while costing our economy 55,000 jobs a year. With this vote, House Republicans have taken what used to be a bipartisan effort to pass a Farm Bill that tackled hunger and turned it into a political wedge against families hurting the most in this economy.

With one in five children living in households that run short on food, it is time to stop playing politics with hunger and work with the Senate to pass a Farm Bill that does not increase poverty and hardship.

Related resources:

To speak with experts on this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org