CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Carol Browner on the Confirmation of Gina McCarthy to Head the EPA

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today, more than 135 days after her nomination, the Senate confirmed Gina McCarthy to lead the Environmental Protection Agency as part of a bipartisan agreement to avoid the “nuclear option.” Carol Browner, Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

After the longest wait in history to confirm an EPA administrator, it’s encouraging to see the Senate finally ending the gridlock by voting to confirm Gina McCarthy, a more-than-qualified nominee who had already been through the Senate confirmation process for her previous role at the EPA. McCarthy’s bipartisan government service and proven record building consensus among diverse constituencies will be invaluable as the country moves forward implementing President Obama’s recently announced climate action plan.

To speak with a CAP expert, please contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org