CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Carol Browner on Mayor Bloomberg’s Plan to Address Risks Posed by Climate Change

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Carol Browner, Distinguished Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, released the following statement on New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg’s speech today that laid out a comprehensive plan to protect New York’s infrastructure from climate change:

New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg is leading the way in finding creative and sustainable strategies for cities to become more resilient and secure while addressing the impacts of climate change. America’s mayors are on the front lines of combating climate change that is fueled by industrial carbon pollution. Our cities are at risk, and it will take strong leadership to protect ourselves in the future from the public health, security, and financial risks associated with climate change, carbon pollution, and extreme weather.

To speak with CAP experts about this issue, please contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org