CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: John Podesta on Resignation of David Hayes, Deputy Secretary of the Interior

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Center for American Progress Chair John Podesta issued the following statement on the resignation of Deputy Secretary of the Interior David Hayes:

Serving two presidents with honor and distinction, David Hayes has helped solve some of the nation’s most complicated natural-resources challenges over the past two decades. He has brokered everything from water deals in California to the settlements of longstanding injustices in Indian country. He has been a leader in helping us prepare for the impacts of climate change on America’s lands while ushering in a new era of smartly planned renewable-energy development in the Southwest and off our coasts. He has rightly earned a reputation as an honest broker, a tireless worker, a dedicated public servant, and an MVP when it comes to preserving America’s great spaces.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org