CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP Economist Adam Hersh on Today’s GDP Report

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Center for American Progress Economist Adam Hersh had the following reaction to the announcement of the first-quarter GDP numbers released this morning by the Bureau of Labor Statistics:

U.S. economic growth rebounded to 2.5 percent in the first-quarter of 2013. Much of this growth, however, resulted from a rebuilding of inventories depleted over previous quarters. It is clear that the underlying growth trend for the U.S. economy remains exceedingly fragile—and we have barely only begun to feel the impacts of sequestration’s automatic spending cuts. Politicians should eliminate the major risk and uncertainty that fiscal austerity poses for U.S. economic recovery.

To speak with a CAP expert about the GDP report, contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org