CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Sarah Jane Glynn on New York City’s Progress on Paid Sick Leave

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In response to this morning’s announcement that after three years of stalled progress, New York City will soon join the ranks of San Francisco, Washington, D.C., Seattle, and the state of Connecticut in ensuring that workers have access to paid sick days, Center for American Progress Policy Analyst Sarah Jane Glynn issued the following statement:

The news that the New York City Council has finally reached a compromise on the city’s paid sick leave bill means real progress for nearly 1 million New York City workers who will no longer have to lose a day’s wages or risk losing their job if they fall ill or need to stay home to care for their sick child. On the heels of victories in Portland, Oregon, and Philadelphia, Speaker Christine C. Quinn’s decision to finally allow this vote illustrates the importance and political salience of paid sick days as a policy priority. This is a historic day for workers and families in New York City, and we hope and anticipate that the rest of the nation is not far behind.

Related resources:

To speak with Sarah Jane Glynn on this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org