CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on Senate Gun Violence Prevention Legislation

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — This evening, Sen. Harry Reid (D-NV) introduced gun-violence prevention legislation that includes a proposal for universal background checks. President and CEO of the Center for American Progress Neera Tanden issued the following reaction:

We are pleased to hear that the Senate’s gun legislation will include the crucial gun access issues addressed by the universal background checks provision. Making sure that we keep guns out of the hands of criminals is a crucial step forward to keeping our children and families safe – and it needs to be part of any bill that comes out of Congress. I thank Sen. Reid for his leadership on this issue.

To speak with a CAP expert on this topic, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285.

Click here to review resources and reports about gun violence prevention from the Center for American Progress.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org