CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: John Podesta on the Nomination of Thomas Perez as Secretary of Labor

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In response to President Barack Obama’s nomination today of Thomas E. Perez for secretary of labor, the Center for American Progress released the following statement by CAP Chair and former White House Chief of Staff John Podesta:

I commend President Obama’s choice of Tom Perez, assistant U.S. attorney general for civil rights, as his nominee for secretary of labor. Having spent his career in public service at the federal, state, and local levels, Tom will bring a profound understanding of the challenges facing working Americans to the Labor Department. Workers’ rights are civil rights, and Tom’s time as secretary of Maryland’s Department of Labor and his extensive experience as a civil-rights lawyer have granted him both the policy expertise and the sense of empathy for ordinary Americans that will make him a strong advocate for workers in the Cabinet.

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Katie Peters at 202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org