CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Neera Tanden on the Senseless Shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In the wake of today’s senseless shooting at an elementary school in Newtown, Connecticut, Neera Tanden, President of the Center for American Progress, issued the following statement:

My heart goes out to the families and friends of all those killed and wounded in today’s horrific mass shooting in Newtown, Connecticut. The events this week in Oregon and Connecticut remind us just how fragile life can be. They are tragedies like so many others that Americans have witnessed far too many times.  While there is typically no one single cause or one simple solution to help prevent them, we must start this conversation. Across America and in Washington, policy makers must join with Americans in determining what we can do to stop this gun violence.

As a mother, I join so many other parents across our country in prayers of comfort for the parents of these innocent victims. As an American, I am horrified that any child needlessly die of gun violence. We must do better.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org