CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: CAP’s Jeff Krehely on the Passage of the New York Senate’s Marriage Equality Bill

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Laura Pereyra
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: lpereyra@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — With a bipartisan vote, the New York Senate passed a bill that will allow same-sex couples to marry, following a similar vote by the state assembly last week. When Gov. Andrew Cuomo signs the bill into law, hundreds of thousands of gay people in New York will have the same state-level marriage rights that all other residents currently enjoy. Jeff Krehely, Director of the LGBT Research and Communications Project at CAP, issued the following statement:

"Today is a great day for all people living in New York state, as well as anyone in our country who cares about equality and fairness. With this vote, as well as several polls showing that most Americans support marriage equality for gay couples, it is clear that our nation has reached a tipping point on this issue. More battles are ahead, but fairness and acceptance are clearly going to win—as they did today in New York."

Once the law is in place, New York will be the largest state that has marriage equality. Connecticut, Iowa, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont, and Washington, D.C., currently allow same-sex couples to marry. Unfortunately, the so-called Defense of Marriage Act prevents the federal government from allowing any legally married same-sex couples to access hundreds of critical family-support programs like Social Security survivor benefits. Advocates are working to repeal this discriminatory law.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org