CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: CAP Launches New Website to Explain Why Courts Matter and Urge Action on Judicial Vacancy Crisis

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On the heels of the conclusion of the 2012-13 Supreme Court term, which brought major decisions on voting rights, marriage equality, diversity in education, and the scope of corporate power, the Center for American Progress today launched WhyCourtsMatter.org. The new website will serve as a central hub for policy experts, advocates, and the public to get educated on the impact courts have on the issues that matter to them.

In addition to hosting resources on judicial nominations, the current vacancy crisis, and legal and policy analysis, the site will also centralize resources for people to take action in urging the Senate to fix the judicial vacancies crisis. The site’s Action Center provides interactive tools that make it easy for constituents to explain to their senators how the courts—and the judges that sit on those courts—impact their daily lives and the issues they care about.

The website’s launch is part of a broader campaign led by CAP’s Legal Progress program to educate progressive advocates across the country about the fact that no matter what issues they work on, the courts and thus the judicial vacancy crisis have an impact. The campaign also seeks to push the American legal system in a more progressive direction and encourage grassroots activism on the judicial vacancy crisis.

Watch the Why Courts Matter launch video:

To speak to CAP experts on this issue, please contact Madeline Meth at mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org