CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: The Growth of the Latino Electorate in Key States

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Crystal Patterson
Phone: 202.478.6350
Email: cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — Today the Progress 2050 project at the Center for American Progress released a new infographic detailing the increased influence that Latino voters will have in future presidential elections.

As the immigration and sequester debates move forward in Congress, Americans of all backgrounds are watching. Latinos, African Americans, and other voters of color have much at stake in both of these debates. As we have seen in the 2012 election, these voters can have a significant impact on election results, and as both parties look ahead to the 2014 and 2016 elections, they should take note of changes in the electorate that are happening at the local level.

“Latino voters are poised to be even more influential for years to come—not just in national elections but also in key state races. Leaders from both parties should take note that the electorates waiting for them in 2014 and 2016 will be remarkably different than in years past,” said Vanessa Cardenas, Director of Progress 2050.

Latino Electorate Growth

You can view the infographic online here.

To speak with Vanessa Cardenas, please contact Crystal Patterson at 202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org