CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: How the House GOP’s Budget Would Affect Communities of Color and Spur More Income Inequality

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Laura Pereyra
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: lpereyra@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — The Center for American Progress today released analyses of the proposed House budget plan revealing that communities of color would be disproportionately affected and it would make it harder to grow the middle class spurring more income inequality.

If Rep. Ryan gets his way, the nation will never make a full commitment to solve major social problems and in many ways we will take giant steps backward to a time when there was virtually no safety net for those falling on hard times. What’s more, in this plan the middle class comes up short—and communities of color end up bearing the brunt of the pain.

Communities of color have been hit hardest by this recession. Unemployment levels in the African American community, while slowly improving, are still almost double that of whites, and the Hispanic unemployment rate is also unacceptably high. What these communities need is a budget that promotes job growth at home. Unfortunately for them, the House plan does nothing to actually promote job growth for the middle class. Included instead are incentives for companies to move their jobs overseas and cuts to programs such as Pell Grants, K–12 education, and job training.

To read how the Ryan budget would cause more pain for communities of color, by Daniella Gibbs Leger, click here.

To read how the Ryan budget would worsen social problems and does not represent America at its best, by Joy Moses, click here.

To speak with CAP experts on the topic, please contact Laura Pereyra at lpereyra@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6258.

See also:

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org