CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

STATEMENT: Judy Feder on HELP Committee’s Health Care Reform Bill

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

WASHINGTON, DC—On behalf of the Center for American Progress I applaud the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions for launching congressional deliberations on health reform with a strong commitment to assuring affordable health care for all Americans. We know there is work still to be done on the chairman’s proposal, but we welcome the committee’s commitments to affordability, quality, prevention, and choice key elements of meaningful health reform. We look forward to developments on shared responsibility and a public health insurance option.

I am particularly pleased that the committee recognizes that the economic and health security of our nation’s families requires affordable long-term supports and services as well as affordable health care for people who need both.

We at CAP believe that the United States cannot solve its economic crisis or place the nation on a sustainable fiscal path without controlling skyrocketing health care costs and covering everyone.

I look forward to the committee sending a solid reform bill to the Senate floor soon.

Judy Feder is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org