CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: A Conversation with Afghan Presidential Candidate Dr. Abdullah Abdullah

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – On Thursday, June 12, just ahead of the upcoming elections in Afghanistan, the Center for American Progress and the Atlantic Council will host Dr. Abdullah Abdullah via Skype from Kabul to share his view at this critical juncture on the future of Afghanistan, particularly following President Barack Obama’s announcement of the withdrawal of U.S. troops from the country by 2016. Dr. Abdullah will discuss his plans to unite a country with a long history of ethnic strife against continued security challenges, as well as share his thoughts on the pending bilateral security agreement with the United States. He will also address key priorities for the next president, including stabilization of the economy after years of foreign support, and reshaping relations within its region and with the United States and its allies.

WHO:

Featured speaker:
Dr. Abdullah Abdullah, Afghan presidential candidate

Moderated by:
Shuja Nawaz, Director, South Asia Center, Atlantic Council
Vikram Singh, Vice President, National Security and International Policy, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

Thursday, June 12, 2014
10:30 a.m. ET – 12:00 p.m. ET

WHERE:

Atlantic Council
1030 15th Street, NW
12th Floor (West Tower) Washington, DC

RSVP:

RSVP to this event

For more information, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund, women's issues)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention, the National Security Agency)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (energy and environment, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org