CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

AVAILABLE FOR COMMENT: CAP Experts Available to Discuss White House Young Men of Color Initiative

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Tanya Arditi
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: tarditi@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — In light of the White House initiative dedicated to boys and young men of color, “My Brother’s Keeper,” the following experts from the Center for American Progress are available for comment:

  • Aisha Moodie-Mills, Senior Fellow and Director, FIRE Initiative (school-to-prison pipeline, LGBT affairs)
  • Sam Fulwood III, Senior Fellow (cultural relations, policy, African American affairs)
  • Vanessa Cárdenas, Vice President, Progress 2050 (Hispanic/Latino affairs, policy, demographic change)
  • Chelsea Parsons, Associate Director, Crime and Firearms Policy (gun violence)
  • Sarah Audelo, Policy Director, Generation Progress (Millennials, youth generation)
  • Tracey Ross, Senior Policy Analyst (Poverty)
  • David Bergeron, Vice President, Postsecondary Education (Education)
  • Sarah Edelman, Economic Policy Analyst (Housing)

Additionally, CAP released today a report that stresses the importance of including LGBT youth a part of this crucial conversation. The initiative, which looks for ways to address why young men of color are disproportionately affected by poverty and prison, also presents a great opportunity to consider the unique factors exacerbating those inequalities for black LBGT youth.

“It’s great to see the White House begin to tackle the problems faced by young men of color, especially issues of school push-out and overcriminalization that incarcerate rather than educate far too many of our black youth,” said Aisha Moodie-Mills, co-author of the report and Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress. “LGBT youth, especially those of color, experience similar challenges with school discipline policies as black boys, so any effort to address these issues will go a long way toward boosting outcomes for LGBT youth as well.”

Related resources:

To speak with our experts, please contact:

Print:
Katie Peters (economy, education)
kpeters@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6285

Anne Shoup (health, foreign policy, gun policy, LGBT, energy)
ashoup@americanprogress.org  or 202.481.7146

Crystal Patterson (immigration)
cpatterson@americanprogress.org or 202.478.6350

Madeline Meth (woman’s issues, higher education, legal issues)
mmeth@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6277

TV:
Lindsay Hamilton
lhamilton@americanprogress.org or 202-483-2675

Radio:
Chelsea Keine
ckiene@americanprogress.org or 202.478.5328

Spanish language:
Tanya Arditi
tarditi@americanprogress.org or 202.741.6258

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi (immigration, race and ethnicity)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org