CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

RELEASE: $37 Million in Revenue Lost Each Day Without Immigration Reform

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Crystal Patterson
Phone: 202.478.6350
Email: cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Today, as Americans wait for the House of Representatives to take up immigration reform, new analysis from the Center for American Progress shows the substantial impact that the passage of reform would make.

The Congressional Budget Office estimated that S. 744, the Border Security, Economic Opportunity, and Immigration Modernization Act, would reduce our deficit by $135 billion over the first 10 years. Based on those calculations, CAP estimates that in the four months since the Senate passed S. 744, we have already missed out on a net $4.9 billion in additional tax revenues. With each additional day that passes, another $37 million in revenue is lost.

There is no denying the powerful impact that immigration reform could have on our economy. But the clock is ticking. Each minute that the House waits to pass immigration reform is another minute we are losing out on the economic benefits of reform. The cost of inaction is too high for the House to postpone immigration reform any longer.

View the lost revenue clock here

Related resources:

To speak with an expert on this topic, contact Crystal Patterson at cpatterson@americanprogress.org or 202.478.6350.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org