CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Secretary Jewell to Discuss America’s Growing Disconnect with Nature and the Future of the Great Outdoors

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Anne Shoup
Phone: 202.481.7146
Email: ashoup@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Tuesday, June 25, 2013, the Center for American Progress will host a discussion with U.S. Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell and award-winning author Richard Louv about getting kids outside, conservation, and public-lands policy in the United States. While the outdoor industry has grown dramatically over the past decade, research shows that Americans—especially children—are increasingly disconnected from nature. This growing disconnect has physical, psychological, and spiritual costs.

While our population is becoming more urbanized, nearly every American lives within a one-hour drive to public lands or waters. These places that belong to each and every one of us are critically important to meeting modern challenges such as “nature-deficit disorder” and the obesity epidemic.

WHO:

Welcoming remarks:
Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress

Featured speakers:
Sally Jewell, Secretary, U.S. Department of the Interior
Richard Louv, Author, The Nature Principle: Human Restoration and the End of Nature-Deficit Disorder

WHEN:

Tuesday, June 25, 2013, 3:30 p.m. ET

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005

RSVP to attend this event

For more information, contact Anne Shoup at ashoup@americanprogress.org or 202.481.7146.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org