CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Rep. Miller, Housing Experts to Discuss Eminent Domain as a Means to Reduce Principal

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Tuesday, January 8 the Center for American Progress will host an event to examine recent calls for municipalities to use eminent domain to restructure underwater mortgages. The housing crisis wiped out nearly $7 trillion in homeowner equity and caused a wave of foreclosures that have crippled the nation’s housing market for nearly four years. While the housing sector appears to be on the road to recovery, the comeback is slow and many communities are still struggling. CoreLogic estimates that more than 10 million homeowners are still underwater, which portends more defaults and foreclosures, along with the possibility of derailing the recovery.

WHO:  

WHEN:

Tuesday, January 8, 2013
12:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H Street NW
10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

RSVP:

RSVP to attend this event

For additional information, please contact Katie Peters at kpeters@americanprogress.org

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org