CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Hedrick Smith, Mark Zandi, Stan Greenberg Join CAP to Discuss Fighting for Policies to Benefit the Middle Class

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – For more than 25 years, analysts have been reporting that the American Middle Class was endangered and in decline. But it was not until this fall that anyone spelled out not only the policies that fostered that decline, but the political movement that drove those policies. Who Stole the American Dream? is an extraordinary new book by Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter and best-selling author Hedrick Smith, who will come to the Center for American Progress to discuss how a little-known memo by a Virginia corporate lawyer launched a movement that reshaped this nation’s economic playing field. In great detail, Smith ties the success of that movement to the decline in wages, the disappearance of traditional pension plans, and the increasingly tenuous financial condition of America’s middle class families.

Smith will be joined by noted economist Mark Zandi who has written extensively on the issue of income disparity and is himself the author of new book, Paying the Price: Ending the Great Recession and Beginning a New American Century. Also on the panel will be pollster and political consultant Stan Greenberg. Greenberg recently co-authored It’s the Middle Class Stupid with political commentator James Carville, and will talk about the prospect of building a broad-based effort to fight for policies to benefit the middle class.

WHO:

WHEN:

December 17, 2012, 12:00pm – 1:00pm
A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC20005

RSVP:

RSVP for this event
For additional information, please contact Katie Peters at 202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org