CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Housing Experts to Put the FHA’s Financial Problems in Perspective

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Katie Peters
Phone: 202.741.6285
Email: kpeters@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Friday, November 30 the Federal Housing Administration’s Acting Commissioner Carol Galante will join a panel of distinguished housing experts and The Wall Street Journal‘s Nick Timiros to put Federal Housing Administration’s financial problems in perspective by addressing the major findings from the agency’s 2012 actuarial review and annual report to Congress.

For close to 80 years the Federal Housing Administration has helped millions of families achieve homeownership and has promoted stability in the U.S. housing market. But in the wake of the worst housing crisis since the Great Depression, the agency is facing mounting losses. Our panel will discuss the agency’s findings, the role the administration has played in recent years, and what lessons we can learn for the future.

WHO:

Keynote speaker:
Carol Galante, Acting Commissioner, Federal Housing Administration

Featured panelists:
Roberto Quercia, Director, UNC Center for Community Capital
David Stevens, President and Chief Executive Officer, Mortgage Bankers Association
Joseph Tracy, Senior Advisor to the President, Federal Reserve Bank of New York
Susan Wachter, Richard B. Worley Professor of Financial Management, The Wharton School
Sarah Rosen Wartell, President, The Urban Institute

Moderated by:
Nick Timiraos, Reporter, The Wall Street Journal

WHEN:
November 30, 2012
12:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.
A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

WHERE:
Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC20005

RSVP:
RSVP for this event

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org