CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: CAP, Chen, Campbell, and Kumar on Political Leadership Among Women of Color

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Laura Pereyra
Phone: 202.741.6258
Email: lpereyra@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – On Thursday, November 1, 2012 please join the Center for American Progress’s FIRE Initiative and Progress 2050 at our second installment of the Women of Color Policy Series for a discussion on the politicization, power, and pipeline to leadership of women of color. Women of color are largely underrepresented in elected positions across the board, comprising just 4.5 percent of the total 535 members of Congress, with similar representation in state legislatures, and even less across statewide offices.

Women of color are have long been the social and economic engines of their communities, but despite their stewardship in the workforce, business, and in education, their voices are underrepresented in the current political debates the economy—even though these issues have a direct impact on their families and communities. Which begs the questions: What is the political power of women of color? And how can progressives help to cultivate their power?

WHO:

Welcoming remarks:

Aisha C. Moodie-Mills, Advisor, LGBT Policy and Racial Justice

Featured panelists:

  • Melanie Campbell, President and CEO, National Coalition on Black Civic Participation
  • Christine Chen, Executive Director, APIA Vote
  • Maria Teresa Kumar, President and CEO, Voto Latino

Moderated by:

Aisha Moodie-Mills, Advisor, LGBT Policy & Racial Justice, Center for American Progress

WHEN:

November 1, 2012,
12:00pm – 1:30pm

Space is extremely limited. RSVP required.
Seating is on a first-come, first-served basis and not guaranteed.
A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

WHERE:

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

RSVP:

RSVP to attend this event
For more information, call 202-682-1611.

# # #

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org