CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Sec. Duncan and Mayor Bloomberg discuss Education Reform in the 21st Century

Wednesday, November 25, 2009, 8:00am – 9:00am

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Today in America, only half of students who enroll in college earn a degree and half of black and Latino teenagers drop out of high school. Where did we go wrong and what will it take to regain our global edge? To answer these questions, President Obama has put out the call to fix our nation’s schools and he’s linking billions of dollars in federal aid to states that meet criteria recently released by the U.S. Department of Education. Join three of the country’s top education leaders for a frank discussion on this new opportunity to revitalize the country’s education system, and hear them talk about the state of our schools, barriers to reform, and what’s at stake for our children and America’s future.

Featured Speakers
Secretary Arne Duncan, U.S. Secretary of Education
Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg, New York City
Kati Haycock
, President, The Education Trust

Moderated by:
Cynthia G. Brown, Vice President for Education Policy, Center for American Progress

Breakfast will be served at 7:30 a.m.

RSVP

Please RSVP to Suzi Emmerling at semmerling@americanprogress.org.

Location

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

Streaming Video

Click here to watch the event live.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org