CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Interactive Map: NIH Research Awards Create Jobs

National Institutes of Health Grants Lead to Job Creation Across the Nation

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The National Institutes of Health, or NIH, are the drivers of biomedical research and innovation internationally. They are also a major source of public- and private-sector job creation and economic output. The research conducted at the NIH has led to countless new drugs, businesses, and jobs that have repaid many times over the cost of the government’s investment. The federal government invested $26.6 billion in NIH research grants in 2010, which created $68 billion in economic activity and supported 488,000 jobs in every state in the nation. For more information on how public investments in the life sciences and genomics research have had substantial returns on investment, see our analysis at Science Progress.

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org