CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Innovation Clusters Create Competitive Communities

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

President Obama’s call for a national innovation policy to spur sustainable economic growth and job creation contains an important new idea—community leadership is a critical component of our nation’s economic strength that the federal government must actively cultivate. The president and his team recognize that when dynamic local businesses (large and small) actively engage with nearby universities and research institutions, community colleges and workforce training programs, local financial institutions and venture capital investors, the result is broad-based, innovation-led regional economic growth that will power our country in the 21st century.

 

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org