CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: Children and Families with Disabilities Smacked by Sequester

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

If Congress fails to act, on March 1, a series of automatic, across-the-board cuts known as the “sequester” will hit several key programs that serve individuals with disabilities. Cutting the deficit on the backs of the most vulnerable goes against our core values as Americans, and it will cost us more in the long term to disinvest from fellow members of society by not providing them the necessary tools to excel.

As a nation we must decide what our priorities are. Do we ensure that children and adults with disabilities receive necessities such as a proper education and roofs over their heads, or is it more important to maintain tax breaks for the wealthiest individuals, such as the mortgage deduction on vacation homes and yachts? We cannot indiscriminately cut crucial services for the vulnerable when there are alternative and less harmful options.

Sarah Baron is a Special Assistant at the Center for American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org