CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The High Cost of Defense Spending in the U.S.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

There are at least four reasons why David S. Broder should have included defense spending in his July 15 op-ed column, "Glimmers of hope on the budget crisis."

First, the baseline defense budget (not including war costs) has grown in inflation-adjusted terms for 13 straight years. Between fiscal 1998 and 2011, it rose from $271 billion to $580 billion, an increase of 114 percent (63 percent in inflation-adjusted terms), and the U.S. share of global military spending jumped from one-third to one-half.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org