CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

What Happens When Wall Street Owns the Neighborhood?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

See also: When Wall Street Buys Main Street by Sarah Edelman, with Julia Gordon and David Sanchez

Over the past few years, institutional investors have bought hundreds of thousands of single-family homes across the country and rented them out. Now, Wall Street firms have created a security that is backed by these homes and supported by their rental incomes. This tool lowers their cost of buying and renting these homes and could supercharge the single-family rental industry.

Click here to view an infographic with some important questions we need to ask about the potential impacts of this new trend.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org