CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Human Toll of Texas’s Decision to Not Expand Medicaid

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Léalo en español

Texas has the highest rate of uninsured people in the country. Yet, despite the fact that the federal government will pick up most of the tab, the state declined federal funds to expand access to health care for millions of low-income residents. The Center for American Progress visited the Rio Grande Valley, one of the poorest areas in the entire country, to see what this decision means for the thousands of working-poor Texans living there.

Watch in Spanish

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org