CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Sea-Level Rise: A Slow-Motion Disaster

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Sea-level rise is a slow-moving threat that presents a tremendous risk to some of America’s most populous cities. The Center for American Progress visited Norfolk, Virginia, a city on the front lines of the fight against rising seas, to talk to residents and community leaders about their efforts to save the city and learn to live with the water. One thing is clear: Doing nothing is not an option.

mp4

Narration:
Lauren Vicary

Animation:
Noisy Neighbor Productions: http://noisyneighbor.tv/

Stock footage:
Prelinger Archives
NASA
Fugro Atlantic
The Associated Press
ABC News
CNN
WAVY 10

Special thanks to:
Lori Crouch, City of Norfolk
Tom McNeilan, Fugro Atlantic
Kyle Spencer, Fugro Atlantic
Larry Atkinson, Old Dominion University
Cathleen Kelly, Center for American Progress
Howard Marano, Center for American Progress
Michael Conathan, Center for American Progress
Noreen Nielsen, Center for American Progress

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org