CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Gusher Ends, Cleanup and Recovery Begin

SOURCE: AP/Dave Martin

Vessels operate in the area of the Deepwater Horizon disaster on the Gulf of Mexico. BP reported on Thursday, July 15 that it finally stopped oil from leaking out of the blown-out well.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The weeks of oil flooding from the ocean floor has mercifully ended. Now we have months of cleanup and years of economic recovery ahead. Most important, the Senate now must provide additional safeguards for offshore oil production, slash oil consumption, and reduce global warming pollution. These provisions would minimize the likelihood that this kind of catastrophe happens again.

For more on how the Senate can move forward on energy reform, see:

For analysis of the BP disaster, see:

For information on the disaster’s public health effects, see:

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org