CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Why Young People Should Fight to Strengthen Social Security

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

idea light bulb

Social Security is the most successful and effective income security program in our nation’s history. Nearly 80 years after President Franklin Delano Roosevelt declared that it would provide “protection against the hazards and vicissitudes of life,” Social Security now insures 90 percent of all Americans against loss of income. Social Security keeps millions of Americans out of poverty and provides all Americans with the peace of mind that they will not become destitute if their family loses its primary source of income due to retirement, disability, or death.

But conservatives want to dismantle the nation’s greatest progressive achievement, and they want to enlist Millennials to do it.

Conservative politicians and outspoken 1-percenters are on a mission to convince young people that Social Security amounts to “generational theft.” According to these doomsayers, seniors are stealing from young people by collecting Social Security benefits and burdening young generations with future taxes that will be so astronomical as to leave them bankrupt. Therefore, these alarmists claim, we must cut Social Security benefits in order to save young Americans from future economic peril.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here