CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: The Shutdown Is More Bad News for Our National Parks and Monuments

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

The shutdown of the federal government this week put a spotlight on tourists turned away from Yellowstone, weddings on the National Mall cancelled, and hunting season in national wildlife refuges in peril.

According to the National Park Service, the closure of all 401 national parks costs local communities approximately $76 million per day in lost revenue from visitors. According to a Climate Progress analysis, states such as North Carolina and Tennessee lose more than $3 million per day from the closure of iconic national parks, including the Great Smoky Mountains.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here