CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Investing in Climate Preparedness and Resilience Will Save Us Money

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

Natural disasters leave communities devastated, often in desperate need of assistance to rebuild shattered homes and lives. As city leaders lay plans to repair broken bridges, roads, and hospitals in the aftermath of a storm, they have a rare moment to rethink the design of their communities and infrastructure and to rebuild with resilience to future storms in mind. Without such foresight, city leaders risk inadvertently reconstructing electric grids, public transportation, and other critical infrastructure in ways that leave communities vulnerable to future storm damages.

Superstorm Sandy lashed the East Coast on October 29, 2012, devastating communities across the densely populated states of New York and New Jersey. The storm killed 147 people and damaged more than 650,000 homes. The Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre reported that Superstorm Sandy drove the third-largest number of people from their homes of all worldwide extreme weather events last year. In New Jersey alone 39,000 families are still displaced.

While much of the debris from Sandy has been cleared away, the hard task of repairing and rebuilding the homes, schools, roads, bridges, hospitals, and other critical infrastructure still lies ahead.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here