CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Policymakers Need to Enable Economic Recovery for the Middle Class

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

The U.S. economy is in its fourth year of a moderate recovery. The continued expansion in the economy and the labor force is the result of past policy interventions to strengthen the recovery against broad and large obstacles, such as high household debt, the lingering European crisis, and states’ fiscal struggles. Smart, targeted policies make a difference, and in recent years policymakers have shown a willingness to work together to move the economy forward.

But those obstacles remain serious threats to the recovery, and policymakers need to keep the recovery’s momentum going instead of stalling it by, for instance, not resolving the current fiscal showdown in Congress a little more than a month before a series of automatic federal spending cuts and tax hikes go into effect.

We should build on the momentum with targeted initiatives that keep teachers and other key public employees in their jobs, invest in key industries such as manufacturing and construction, and help the middle class get out from under a still-crushing mountain of debt by maintaining key income support measures and tax cuts.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here