CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Green-Collar Jobs: Energy Bill includes Christmas present for nation’s job seekers

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

This week, the federal government passed an energy bill that left many environmental activists somewhat disappointed. In the face of mounting evidence of a looming climate catastrophe, they were hoping for much bolder action from the nation’s lawmakers.

So was I. But tucked into the new law, there were at least TWO provisions that should give everyone something to cheer about: the Green Jobs Act and its new (green) Pathways Out Of Poverty program.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org