CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Not just a slogan: The future of Latinos in Virginia hangs in the balance in this election

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Last week, my 3rd grader’s homework was about our form of government and the values that make us Americans. I thought it was an appropriate and timely assignment given the upcoming election. In a few days Virginians will go to the polls to elect the next governor of the commonwealth and in doing so will practice the most cherished and sacred act of a democracy: practicing our right to vote. Much is at stake in this election for the Latino community. The next governor will make choices on many issues that have a direct impact on the quality of our lives including the types of funding our schools gets; local immigration efforts, about our healthcare options, our pocketbooks and a women’s right to choose. Latinos have a lot to think about since Terry McAuliffe and Ken Cucccinelli offer two very different visions for Virginia.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in La Plaza.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org