CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Restore Public-Sector Jobs and Invest in Infrastructure for Immediate Jobs and Long-Term Growth

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

After coming into office in the depths of the Great Recession, President Obama has helped create more than a million jobs over his first term. The American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, support for the auto industry, and other policies implemented by the 111th Congress in 2009 and 2010 set the right path forward, fostering 31 months of private-sector job creation.

Deficit spending has been effective in boosting job creation. In 2008, the economy began losing jobs, and by the winter of 2008-09, the economy was shedding more than 20,000 jobs per day, more than at any point since the Bureau of Labor Statistics began tabulating these data in 1948. The Recovery Act led to a rapid reversal in the number of layoffs, and starting in March 2010, the economy saw jobs being added each month.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Christian Science Monitor.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Katie Peters (economy, education, poverty, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.741.6285 or kpeters@americanprogress.org

Print: Anne Shoup (foreign policy and national security, energy, LGBT issues, health care, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7146 or ashoup@americanprogress.org

Print: Crystal Patterson (immigration)
202.478.6350 or cpatterson@americanprogress.org

Print: Madeline Meth (women's issues, Legal Progress, higher education)
202.741.6277 or mmeth@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Tanya Arditi
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

TV: Lindsay Hamilton
202.483.2675 or lhamilton@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org